Wedding Weekend, Part Two

I almost completely forgot about the appointment.  Thankfully I did not.  Today, Patrick and I went to Aria Bridesmaids in Dupont Circle.  I had been introduced to Aria by Heidi, as that’s where we (her bridesmaids) ordered our dresses from for her wedding.

I have seriously been through about a million dresses.  Dresses I thought were perfect.  Dresses that ended up making me look like a six foot tall marshmallow, etc.  Every time I thought I had one picked out, I was completely wrong.  Then I saw this dress on Aria’s website that was only released last month:

The sash is optional, which is good because I am not a sash kind of girl.

I saw this picture, and I just knew that was it.  It even has POCKETS.  Do you know how hard it is to find a simple dress that has no sequins or beading or rouching or embellishment?  It’s next to impossible, unless you feel like dropping a grand or three.  Everything I tried on made me feel like a cream puff or a Christmas ornament.

A couple of weeks ago, I made an appointment at Aria, and today was the day.  I don’t have any pictures of me in the dress, although I did try it on.  It looked and felt perfect, although it was about an inch too short.  I could even tell the way Patrick looked at me.  (I am not one of those brides who feels the need to hide the dress. Although he will not see it once I get it in the right size, altered, dressed up, etc.)  I did snap a couple of shots of the dress hanging up, although it obviously just looks like a hanging sheath.

Here are some shots from today:

My dress. Except that flap across the top will not be there. I’m just getting a straight across strapless neckline, no embellishment or band.

That’s it, hanging on the left.

I’m so excited.  It felt perfect.  It looked perfect.  I’ll be ordering it at the beginning of November, so sayeth Karen at Aria.  I’m very excited.  I haven’t had much fun planning the wedding, with all the ups and downs.  Between crazy families, losing two bridesmaids, and budget issues… it’s been hard feeling like a bride.  Now things are coming together.  Our budget has been solidified and accounted for.  We worked on our cake yesterday together, and today I found my dress.

Now we get started in paying everything off, heh.

This entry was posted in Wedding Planning and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Wedding Weekend, Part Two

  1. Ohmygoshi says:

    all together now….AWWWWWWWWWWWWWW

  2. heidi says:

    Yay!!! I can’t wait to see it on you!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. Miss Jenny says:

    SENTIMENTAL I FEEL.

Leave a Reply

