Mild Case of Oversleeping

Woke up at 12pm today.  Was supposed to have been at work at 9am.  Oops.

I hate that feeling. I hate that feeling you get from oversleeping, where you groggily arouse from slumber more well-rested than usual, only to realize something is off.  The sun is shining through your bedroom a little brighter than it should be.  The apartment is completely empty and quiet.  Almost too quiet.  Seriously, there is a certain type of quiet that comes over an apartment during the week, midday.

I dreaded looking at the alarm clock.  I knew it was going to be bad.  You always kind of hope it won’t be that bad.  But then it is.  And then there’s that sinking panicking feeling.

HATE.

Waking up that way always makes me feel disjointed.  I’m in my cubicle at work.  Everything is calm and quiet, which is good.  Theoretically this office serenity should offset my previous “I AM LATE FOR WORK!” anxiety, but it doesn’t.  It’s like that juxtaposition heightens it.

Seriously, right now there isn’t a sound reverberating through this office.  No one is saying anything at all.  Just… quiet.  It’s normal for our department.  We’re either really wacky, off the wall, and jovial, or completely silent.

I’m trying to recollect myself.  I have a presentation on Artificial Intelligence for class that I should be researching.  I’ve opened up a search engine window and brought up some results, but that’s about the extent of it.

I can’t wait to go home and start over tomorrow the right way.

This entry was posted in random and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mild Case of Oversleeping

  1. iammisplaced says:

    I agree with everything you say about sleeping in and all of that. When I’m home sick and I’d taken a nap from 7 in the morning and then wake up at noon and the sun shines in from the shade and everything just feels weird. I also wake up really early, so if I wake up at 7 instead of 6, I’ll start freaking out because I thought I’d already missed the entire day. Anyway, good luck with you’re AI studying.

  2. It’s been very hard to keep up with you since your LJ days, woman!

    But I’m always glad to 🙂

Leave a Reply

