Oh, Liz…

Well, I got up for work this morning.  What did Patrick do?  Wish me well as he rolled over to go back to sleep on this, the start of his second day on vacation.  I love you so much, darling, but die in a fire.

There are so many occasions where I feel like the odd one out.  And I don’t mean that in a “Aw, poor thing!” kind of way.  I’m the first to admit that I’m a little goofy.  For many I am the funny nerdy friend, and I am absolutely okay with that.  Except when I have moments like this:

Sadly, this happens often.  Much like when Reese Witherspoon shows up to the “Don’t forget to bring your own Merlot!” party at Harvard Law School dressed as a bunny in Legally Blonde… except less cute.

Currently I’m feeling that whole “last one to leave the party, omg!” thing now, but in a much less embarrassing way.

When I moved home back in 2007, it was great.  I was home.  I had done my time “abroad” (so to speak) in Boston, Ft. Lauderdale, and Chapel Hill, North Carolina.  The move back home to the DC area was it.

Moving home had the requisite adjustment period where one realized that you actually can go home again, but you also can never go home again, and the seemingly mutual exclusivity of those two statements makes your head split in about five pieces.  It’s the whole everything is the same, but different (!) paradox that makes you crazy.

At first it was really hard.  I was home, but I barely knew anyone outside my now fiance.  Over time, however, I’ve made some amazing friends and strengthened pre-existing friendships.  It’s allowed me to get comfortable. Perhaps too comfortable.

As I got more settled in with some amazing friends, I forgot one key thing: even though I hate admitting what so many others say, it’s true that Washington DC is transient.  After some further thought on the matter I realized that  most of my friends are going to eventually leave and move back to their homes (or onward to new adventures) as time goes on.

I don’t know why I didn’t think of it sooner.  I’ve had people who are outright shocked that I’m a native of the area, as are my parents, and my grandparents.  In fact my grandfather and his brothers used to have an Italian restaurant (we’re Italian) on North Capitol Street.  It was the family business.

I guess I never really thought about it because growing up in the ‘burbs, I was surrounded by people from here.  Come high school graduation, however, so many of them left, myself included.

I’m not really looking forward to the fact that pretty soon I’m going to start having to say goodbye over and over again to friends, as they head off on their respective journeys.

I feel stupidly selfish about the whole thing because, as I mentioned, I got comfortable.  I love my friends.  I fear change.  I hate goodbyes.  Me me me. Wah wah wah.  I’m ranting like the only child I am, heh.

I keep telling myself that people moving away are merely excuses to travel, and I will just keep doing that over and over again until I start believing it.

This entry was posted in life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh, Liz…

  1. Megan says:

    My family consists of all native Washingtonians, too, and the city really is transient! However, we’ve all been here for a few generations… and I can’t really imagine moving outside of the metropolitan area. Well, I can imagine it, but I don’t know that I would be happy.

    You’re right to look on the bright side of things — when a good friend and coworker moved to London to study, I was incredibly sad to see her go. But I took her up on her offer of an air mattress on her dorm room floor and flew to England for a long weekend! I probably never would have gone if she hadn’t left, and I just about the most amazing time ever. Traveling often is absolutely essential to one’s sanity, I think! 🙂

Leave a Reply

