Years Fly By, Part One

As Patrick and I approach our two year anniversary, I’m going to start recapping what we’ve done together so far.  I’ve been working on this for days, and this marks the first installment, with the final installment to be posted on our two year anniversary.

So yea, happy (early start to our) anniversary, Patrick! I hope you enjoy reading this as much as I’ve enjoyed taking the trip down memory lane to write this.

This segment will start off with when I finally started announcing to people that Patrick and I were dating.  It was a whirlwind that started with him randomly visiting me while I lived in Chapel Hill, North Carolina.

“Some of you have heard about him [Patrick] in clipped emails that lack a lot of substance. I’ve been seeing him for almost two months now, and I am… so happy.” –January 2008

Soon after I wrote that, Patrick and I decided to move in together. This was the first thing we ever bought for our apartment:

A gourd from Target. FEEL THE ROMANCE.

The gourd, however, is not the most interesting thing we ended up buying that weekend, on a subsequent trip:

“The Plates”

It sounds almost ridiculous but The Plates are what got us to move in together.  We were sitting in his old apartment, looking over things he wanted to get for his new place, as he was planning on moving out of the place he had with his roommate.  Somehow it morphed into us looking at things together, and while we were both discussing our mutual love for these plates, he mentioned that it might be easier if we just move in together!

Needless to say, it was a happy time for us.

Patrick at Terrapin Beach, Eastern Shore of MD.

Before we moved in together in March, we had a lot of good times.  For example, as pictured above, Patrick took me to a very meaningful spot on the Eastern Shore. I would share the importance, but it is personal.  It was a beautiful brisk day that brought us closer together.  A good portion of the day was just us walking, hand in hand, along the beach.  We spent other times shopping, curled up watching movies, Forensic Files, and eating chicken strips.  We met each other’s families.  We collected more items for our apartment. It was lovely.

It was during this time that my mom decided that Patrick must be a “big deal” if I was making drives from Alexandria VA (where I was staying with her) to Columbia MD to see him once or twice a week.

One of the most amazing memories from that time that stands out is one particular late night drive we took. We drove from his place in Columbia, through Baltimore, and up to Annapolis.  That night he drove me around, showing me where he grew up, telling me stories from his childhood, etc.  I remember that night vividly.  We were moving from that honeymoon period and we were starting to really get to know each other.  We ended that night with a late dinner at Denny’s, which we jokingly called “our place”.

I knew he was a keeper on Valentine’s Day, when he got me the most spectacular bouquet of red orchids, which was something I had off-handedly mentioned ONCE as my favorite flower.  The man has a memory like a steel trap; plus he listens.

The day we moved in together quickly approached, and soon it was the last day in February, and we were headed to our apartment in Beltsville.

Moving Day. SLEEPY.

From our ridiculous trip to IKEA.

The moving itself was quite an adventure. What we thought would be a five to six hour move (TOPS) turned into an all day crazy fest that left us, at the end of the day, so sore that we didn’t even have the strength to eat the food we had ordered at KFC. We sat there, staring at it.  The remainder of the weekend was filled with going to IKEA to furnish our apartment, and making the most of our first little home together.

“Patrick is currently curled up in bed, nestled sweetly under the covers. He’s the kind of guy whose face looks almost childlike when he sleeps. It’s beyond adorable. I cannot help but laugh though, as he wore his “I ❤ Hot Moms” t-shirt to bed last night. The juxtaposition of his cherubic face and the sentiment of his shirt…

…I love it.” –March 2009

The view at our apartment from our porch.

It was not too long before we added another member to our family, who has since become INFAMOUS.

Pardon the Zombie Eyez, courtesy of the camera flash.

Oh, Horatio. It was as if it was meant to be. I had seen him weeks before in the pet store, but he was being played with by another couple. Surely they were going to take the loveable ball of fluff home. Plus, we weren’t in the market for a puppy.

Then we were. Then we came back. And we saw him. And he was too expensive. So we left. And I was sad at lunch. And Patrick said we should just at least go say hi to the little guy. We went back.  We took him out and played with him in the romp room the store had set up. It was love. True love.  Then Patrick said “well, Liz, you’d better take him.”  Patrick was holding him at the time, and I thought we were prepping to give Horatio back to the staff. With a forlorn look, I took the little fluffy wiggle worm in my arms. Then, true to form, Patrick continued, “I’m going to need both arms free. They’re probably going to want me to sign some paperwork before we take him home.”  I almost exploded.

And that’s where I’m going to leave off for today.

This entry was posted in Happy Anniversary Patrick! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Years Fly By, Part One

  1. Laura says:

    I remember all of this! 🙂 And I love the orchids, but I love that vase even more. Beautiful…

  2. Pam says:

    Awww 🙂

  3. New reader…found you on 20sb.

    Love this…and Horatio is adorable! I look forward to reading more of your stuff.

Leave a Reply

