Breaking My Rut for Photos

I have barely been around at all recently, I know.  I still consider myself an avid blogger, yet in the past few weeks I have found myself too overwhelmed to write.  Thank you for all the amazing comments and emails I received regarding my mother.  While there were worrisome complications, she’s doing just fine now.

I will return to blogging regularly, but today I wanted to share some photos I had taken not too long ago.

A couple of weeks ago, I had the honor of being invited to the bridal shower for an amazingly fabulous friend of mine, down in southern Virginia, near Norfolk.  In addition, the lovely bride-to-be let me use her camera to photograph some of the festivities for her.  I had been so long since I had picked up a camera of actual substance (aside from my piddly little point and shoot Kodak), and it felt amazing.

Here are some of the results.  I’m proud; I hope you like them, and are jealous of the ridiculous views we got to enjoy two weekends ago.

She’s too adorable, I know.

Last, but certainly not least….

…the view.

Let me just tell you, it took so much will power to get out of the lounge chair pictured on the far right, when we had to leave on Sunday afternoon to head back to Washington DC.  I could have sat on that porch forever.

So, if anyone would like to buy this gal a nice expensive SLR, that would be absolutely fantastic.  I think I stopped doing photography because, for a long time, it reminded me of things I wanted to forget.  I forgot how much I love doing it, although I am definitely a bit rusty.

For now, I have to get ready to head home.  Sadly my paper on the role of women in Egypt will not write itself, and there are about eight million loads of laundry calling my name.

Also, you know it’s a Monday when a client calls me at 5:30apm, on the dot, right as I’m about to walk out the door. Sigh.

This entry was posted in life, photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Breaking My Rut for Photos

  1. Ohmygoshi says:

    OOooo the cupcake one is gorgeous!! and the view on the last one? to die for!! They are all fabulous! ❤

  2. Rhian says:

    i love your photography, you have such a great eye

Leave a Reply

