Hail to the Redskins…

My year is broken up into two sections:

1. Football Season

2. Not Football Season

Football Season is great.  First of all, there’s the obvious: football. Then there’s my birthday (presents), Thanksgiving (mmm, food), Christmas (more presents), fall and winter (my favorite seasons), New Years, the Playoffs, the Super Bowl…  It’s a great time of year.  This is when you are most likely to find your Liz in a happy and content state.

Not Football Season is awful.  Would you like to know what Not Football Season consists of?  Taxes, ungodly DC humidity, not my birthday (no presents for me), not fall or winter, no presents for me, me giving presents to everyone else (still no presents for me)… and no football. NO FOOTBALL.

Granted I can usually ease my transition from Football Season to Not Football Season with pro-hockey (Go, Caps!), but soon that’s over too, and all that is left of me the bitter, angsty shell of a woman who used to know what happiness was.

Thankfully Football Season is  right around the corner.  I can feel it.  Soon it’ll be time for this football bird to fly south for the winter; in this case winter is Landover, Maryland… Fedex Field, the home of the Washington Redskins.

Even though Football Season is close, I am still in the throes of Not Football Season, magnified by the torture of knowing that everything is so close, and yet so far away.  Thankfully I now have something to look forward to.

What you are looking at above is the view from OUR TICKETED SEATS for the Washington Redskins vs. Philadelphia Eagles game on Monday, October 26th! October 26th, I should note, will be my 27th birthday!  I also bought a stadium parking pass (in the awesome super-close section), so we’ll be tailgating for sure.  I cannot wait! Needless to say, I am no longer pissed that my birthday will be on a Monday this year, although I will have to get some celebrating in during that weekend preceding.

If you’re jealous, I understand. It’s very difficult not to be.  Hee.

The last time I went to a Redskins game, it was literally the day I moved back home from North Carolina to the DC area.  No joke.  I didn’t even stop anywhere.  I picked up an old high school friend in Richmond, we picked up beer and food at the local grocery store, and headed straight for the stadium.  It was snowing.  We were wrapped in Redskins blankets, drinking to keep warm, jumping up and down like maniacs.  We beat the Chicago Bears last night.  It was a perfect way to herald my return home.  I remember I drove to Patrick’s apartment in Maryland after the game.  It was ridiculously late.  I soaked and frozen to the bone, a little deaf from all the screaming, but completely satisfied as he and I curled up in his bed that night.

It’s amazing what has happened in a little less than two years.  I cannot wait to share this game with him.  Unless we lose.  In which case he’ll probably be tired of my moping and bitching within two hours of the end of the game, heh.

I am so ready to bid a not-so-fond adieu to Not Football Season.  Bring it on!  Bring on the inevitable pain and tears that accompanies being a Redskins fan; I’m ready!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hail to the Redskins…

  1. Ohmygoshi says:

    um…JEALOUS does not even begin to describe my sentiments! If for some ungodly reason Patrick decides to ditch, for the love of all things Redskin, CALL ME! PLEASE!

  2. Megan says:

    My life is broken up into Football Season and Not Football Season, too — but for very different reasons! My dad is a sportswriter who’s covered the team since I was a kid. Not Football Season means Dad is home, hanging out, cooking and goofing around with us — and Football Season means he’s off and, unfortunately, missing all sorts of events. Of course I’m an adult now and don’t whine about it as much — and accept it as “the way life is.” But still, I miss him 🙂

    That’s awesome you got tickets for your birthday — how exciting! 🙂 Enjoy!

  3. Pam says:

    Hope you have a great birthday! Spit on Vick for me!

Leave a Reply

