Recipe: Peanut Butter Pumpkin Cookies

Yesterday marked the inauguration of my holiday baking season. While there was glorious sunshine coming through our windows, I decided to pretend that it was brisk and chilly outside because, frankly, I’m completely over summer. (See new blog header.)

To mark the second Sunday of football season, I cooked a lovely lunch of homemade white bean dip (with vegetable and flaxseed chips), buffalo chicken sandwiches with crumbled blue cheese, and my absolute favorite fall beverage:

To top off our little feast I made Peanut Butter Pumpkin Cookies! I tweeted about it, and received several requests for the recipe.  I’m not surprised because just hearing the type of cookie it is makes me drool.  The recipe is based off of a generic recipe that I modified and tweaked until it was brimming with yummy autumn goodness.

Aside from the tastiness of the cookies, what makes this recipe great is how easy it is.  Few ingredients and even fewer steps!  Granted I have a stand mixer, which makes baking infinitely easier, you’ll find yourself pleased without one.

Now, without further ado…

PEANUT BUTTER PUMPKIN COOKIES

Ingredients:

1 jar of creamy peanut butter
2 eggs
1.5 cups of sugar (or sugar substitute, like Splenda)
1 tablespoons of vanilla extract
2 teaspoons of baking soda
1 heaping tablespoon of pumpkin spice

Directions:

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.
2. In a bowl, combine and blend all ingredients thoroughly. Might look a bit crumbly, but that’s okay!
3. Make 1 inch balls out of cookie dough, and flatten them somewhat.  Place them on a greased baking sheet about 2 inches apart.
4. Bake for approximately 10 minutes. Let cool completely.
5. Enjoy!

The only note I would make about the recipe is NOT using generic store brand peanut butter.  I used an all natural creamy peanut butter from Trader Joe’s (the kind where you can see the oil pooled at the top of the jar), and it was fantastic. You could really taste the difference, in terms of quality.  Not only that, it was much easier to blend with the other ingredients.

I’m sure regular peanut butter would work as well, but given the choice, I’ll go with the natural peanut butter instead of processed.

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recipe: Peanut Butter Pumpkin Cookies

  1. Yay fall baking, football and beer! I will be making apple zucchini muffins tonight and will post the recipe on Monday! I hope you share more of yours throughout the season too:)

  2. Anamarie says:

    DELISH!!

Leave a Reply

