Random Notes

**Last night I made an amazing dinner, and I have to say that I am quite proud of myself. From scratch parmesan cheese and fresh basil turkey burgers, topped with sliced fresh whole milk mozzarella and tomatoes dredged in a bit of oil, balsamic vinegar, and salt. It was so good, but sadly the accompanying cous cous was way too dry.

**We also finally buckled under the pressure and watched the season premiere of House.  I’ve never been a huge fan of the show, but I really enjoyed it.  What still concerns me is that the premiere seemed to be this encapsulated plot line, almost like a movie, and I’m not sure if that will really translate to the rest of the season.  I’ll give it a shot though, and hope it’s not just another eye-rolling Greys-Anatomy-esque medical drama show.

**I’ll admit it; I’ve been a complete slacker with this current class I’m in.  I’ve let a lot of bad habits consume me, and frankly I’m looking forward to when this class is over, and I can start anew in my next class. I’m a bit disappointed in myself because I had been doing so well.

**One of the joys of working in any sort of customer service field is that there is never a shortage of people willing to tell you how best to (a) run your business, (b) do your job, or (c) both.  “You see, I know you’re doing what you think is best for you [yea, because I’m running this company], but it’s not what is best for the customer.” “Why don’t you accept it over the phone?” “Why can’t I do everything electronically?” “You know, if you did [fill in the blank], you might actually make people happy!”  “You’d think, in this day and age, you could do [fill in the blank].” “You know, you’re going to lose customers over this.” “All the other publishers are doing it!”

It’s usually something asinine, like they’re just shocked and appalled that they were charged tax. Or shipping. Or for the actual product itself. We really ask so much, I know.

**Getting in shape has been going well. I’m starting to notice some slight differences. My arms are a bit leaner. I don’t get winded as easily.  The hill of doom right by our apartment that I must trudge up every morning didn’t feel as bad today.  I’m looking forward to more positive changes.

**This morning it was HUMID. It felt oppressive before 9am. I hate DC weather. I hate it….

…BUT AT LEAST IT IS THE FIRST DAY OF FALL!!

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Random Notes

  1. notsojenny says:

    cous cous is really hard to get right

    and i still can’t bring myself to sit through an episode of House, you’re stronger than i am

Leave a Reply

