Life Gets in the Way

The past two months, as well as the next few weeks, have me all over the place.  So far, since the middle of September, two fabulous friends of mine have gotten married.  This upcoming weekend, my cousin gets married.  The weekend after that… Patrick’s birthday is on Saturday (the 18th), and my mother’s birthday is on the 19th.  Exactly a week after the 19th, on Monday, is my birthday. (Groan.)  The weekend after that is  Halloween, which is also the weekend Patrick and I are traveling up to Boston.

Then it’s November.

On top of that, I have my little side project of a food blog (The Klutzy Kitchen) because when I am actually in town or not busy, I seem to be in the kitchen cooking.

In addition, I also have school full time. I have to mention that it was just announced that I made Dean’s List! Also, after this class, I’ll be a college sophomore, which is downright unbelievable.  I know, I know… at 26 years old, I shouldn’t be THIS excited about it, but I am.  This is my white whale, so to speak.  Not only that, the class I’m currently taking is my first class in my major (well, one of my two majors, as I’m doing a dual degree).  Let me just say how much nicer it is to be studying something I actually enjoy.  Even though I have a way to go in this whole process, it feels good to see some pay off already.

Anyway, so as I mentioned, two of my friends have gotten married recently.  I already talked about Heidi getting hitched in September.  This past weekend, another wonderful friend of mine, Jessica got hitched to a wonderful guy, Chris.

It wasn’t your typical wedding in a hotel ballroom, for sure.  It was a destination wedding.  On Lake George.  In New York.  Everyone flew or drove up, stayed in a resort on the lake called Blue Water Manor; it was neat! It was a collection of cabins.  The first night, even though everyone was exhausted from traveling (or from wedding festivities), was marked with a huge rehearsal dinner in town, followed by some fun at the tavern at the resort.

The next day was the wedding itself.  Patrick and I took advantage of some stolen time during the day to grab some brunch, and relax in our cabin.  It was our first vacation together ever, and it was lovely.  As bad as we felt about it, it felt amazing to just laze about our cabin, drinking beer and wine, enjoying our freedom.

The wedding itself was spectacular, beautiful, and unique.  I could describe it, but I can’t really quantify how much fun it was.  I mean, when all was said and done after the wedding and reception, we all gathered around a big bonfire on the grounds of the resort, drinking, listening to a guy playing the guitar (who was a guest), just enjoying the fact that we were all there together.

Anyway, below are some pictures from the weekend, but they don’t really do anything justice.  Enjoy…

Our makeshift fridge, between the glass and the window screen.

Amazing car parked at Blue Water Manor (with cabins behind it)...

Bridesmaids at the church.

The church. So gorgeous.

The ceremony.

The newly married couple!

Patrick & I on the way back to the reception.

This was amazing. The beginning of the reception was marked by a Korean wedding ceremony (Jess is half Korean). It was beautiful. It had blessings from their parents, a neat tradition of throwing dates where they find out how many kids they are going to have, etc. It also ended with strong man Chris giving Jess a piggyback ride around the reception room, per Korean tradition, to show that he is willing to support her.

Jess & Chris, following the Korean ceremony, came back dressed in their wedding attire, triumphant and ready to start the reception.

I don’t really have any pictures from the rest of the evening; it was too much fun to fool with cameras.  Dancing, great food, wonderful people.

Oh, I will share one other picture…

This was the view a few steps from our cabin door. It was breathtaking.

It was a great weekend, but now we’re back in the real world.  The holidays are just around the corner (!!!!), and other major life changes that I can’t talk about are going to swiftly become a reality as well.

The only sad part about the past couple of months, as fun as they have been… I haven’t seen a lot of my friends recently.  It’s as if we all became insanely busy all at once, with life pulling us all in different directions.  Hopefully that will right itself somewhat.

This entry was posted in life, photography and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Life Gets in the Way

  1. Lexi says:

    So, so pretty!

  2. jessabean says:

    I’m sorry you feel so stressed and busy (I know the feeling–ha!), but Chris and I are so, so happy that you and Patrick came to our wedding. It wouldn’t have been the same without you. And thanks for taking such awesome photos! Hugs!

  3. Laura says:

    You are so gosh darn cute.

    And I love weddings. 🙂

    That’s all. I’m very tired. (Sorry. At least I’m honest?) 🙂

  4. Sounds like a great time! Glad you had fun:)

Leave a Reply

