Happy (Early) Anniversary, Patrick!

Tomorrow is our two year anniversary. Since tomorrow is so jam-packed with an apartment viewing, the Scottish Walk in Old Town, and who knows what else, I thought I would take some time out of today to commemorate the occasion.

Something sad happened today: the setting of my engagement ring broke, cutting my finger.

I was upset, of course. With a sigh, I slipped the Claddagh ring I normally wear on my right hand onto the ring finger of my left hand.  “What timing,” I said to myself.

As I thought about it, however, it was somewhat fortuitous, given that our anniversary is tomorrow.  While I would much rather have my ring in one piece, as opposed to the mangled wreck it is now, it made me realize how much Patrick and I have been through, and how strong we are.

We’ve relocated together. We’ve dealt with unemployment.  We’ve each made some hefty sacrifices for each other in the face of adversity.  We’ve dealt with deaths in the family.  We’ve been planning a wedding that, for a time, kept getting pushed, which was frustrating to say the least.

In spite of all that, we have built a family and a life together that I would not trade for anything.  Sometimes it amazes me to look at our life, to see how blessed we are.

The best part is, of course, Patrick.  There are so many wonderful things about him.  He is so kind, sincere, and gentle; the kind of man where, if he says something, no matter what it is, you can take it to the bank.  He’s incredibly smart.  He’s loving and caring. He’s always there for me. As hokey as it sounds, he’s my rock.  In short, my life is better because he is a part of it.

Aside from all the mushy stuff, he makes me laugh in ways I cannot even begin to describe.  The deep kind of laugh that makes your tummy hurt. He’s ridiculously silly and spontaneous.

He’s the kind of guy where even a night at home, camped out on the couch, is fun. He pushes me to be better, and always believes in me, even when I don’t always believe in myself.  He’s the best (and manliest!) cheerleader. Try this on for size: he’s also the kind of guy who will show up at your office and bring you flowers, just because you’re having a bad day.  True story!

No relationship is without its ups and downs, and we are no different.  No matter how feisty we get, he is always easy to love.  It always feels like we are equal partners, working to make each other as happy as we can possibly manage.

In summation, Patrick, I love you.  We’ll get the ring fixed, I’m sure, but in the end it doesn’t matter.  You’re my best friend and my future husband. You make me happy.  Our life together is wonderful, even during the hard times.  Those are things that don’t break.

Happy Anniversary. ❤

This entry was posted in Anniversaries and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Happy (Early) Anniversary, Patrick!

  1. Laura says:

    Happy Anniversary, you love birds! 🙂

  2. Beth says:

    aww…such a sweet entry. your relationship is definitely a strong one, built on a sturdy foundation. Happy Anniversary:)

Leave a Reply

