SNOMG 2009

So, yes… as we all know, the DC area was pounded with snow over the weekend.  It was a lot of fun.  We stayed in.  We watched movies, including (but not limited to) the celebrated Christmas classic, Die Hard 2.  I also learned that the Chinese food delivery guy is more reliable than our United States Postal Service; the latter of whom did not show at all on Saturday, but we sure as heck were dining on some tasty Peking Duck Rolls on Saturday night!

Anyway, even though you all have probably been subjected to thousands of photos from the SNOMG EMERGENCY of 2009, I’m going to join the fray of snowpocalypse photography…


My very first snow angel! I had never made one before!


It was also Clover’s first snow!

Horatio had fun, too!

Our little stairway and part of the sidewalk was only shoveled because of our downstairs neighbor.  Someone from the building next door tried to offer him $10 to shovel that building’s stairway, heh. Otherwise we would have been completely snowed in.

Overall it was a really nice weekend, although I will admit that I was glad we were able to escape to the mall on Sunday for Christmas shopping… I love watching the snow fall from inside, but I do get a bit stir crazy sometimes.

On Sunday we actually had to walk out to a zipcar about a mile away, since the Metro was a complete mess, and buses weren’t even running.

It was actually kind of fun walking in the middle of the street (because there was no way to walk on the sidewalks, unless you felt like trudging through 17 inches of unshoveled snow) with all of the other people escaping from our neighborhood.

I managed to get all the way to the zipcar without slipping and falling; seriously, that is an amazing accomplishment considering how klutzy I am!  Right before we got to the zipcar, we stopped into Starbucks for holiday lattes (mmmm, Egg Nog Chai Latte!).  As we approached the parked zipcar in the lot, after about a mile of careful stepping and walking over and around snow/ice, I slipped dramatically, with my Egg Nog Chai Latte splashing all over.  I did not drop it, miraculously, but leave it to me to get all the way there only to fall face first into snow.

Anyway, tonight I’m meeting up with Anamarie for a couple of drinks at Mr. Smith’s in Georgetown while Patrick does a little last minute Christmas shopping!  I have to grab a couple of things tomorrow and on Christmas Eve day (I know, I’m crazy), but I’m hoping that the majority of Patrick’s gifts arrive tonight; especially one in particular!

Either way, it’s been a lovely holiday season so far.

This entry was posted in life, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to SNOMG 2009

  1. Carolyn says:

    The pictures remind me of growing up in Buffalo, NY. I remember, vividly, walking down the middle of the street in tire track of the plows because the snow was piled high all around us. Or having to leave our car parked at a grocery store around the corner and walking home because there was no way we were getting our car down the street.

    Enjoy it! It’s beautiful!

  2. Meg says:

    You can never have too many snowpocalypse photos! Haha, that’s about all I did all weekend… take pictures and shoot movies. We had fun, too, but I was ready to get out of the house on Monday. Even though I had to go to work. (Sad face.)

    Your shots are great! Glad the dogs had fun, too, even if they look a little apprehensive. My golden retriever was so very not excited about the snow, but we brought him out in it for a little while!

    And, um, how did I not know about the Egg Nog Chai Tea Latte at Starbucks?! I’m upset. I’ll be going there shortly. 🙂

    • It’s actually not something on the Starbucks menu. It used to be, so if you just walk up and ask for the Egg Nog Chai Latte, they’ll make it. 🙂

      Actually Horatio had a total blast, which sadly I did not capture on camera. He loves bouncing around in the snow. Clover, however, was definitely a bit confused, heh.

  3. Lexi says:

    I’m still not entirely convinced that this snow happened, considering when I got back on Saturday, it was gone. I’m pretty sure that you photoshopped yourselves into some pics from Alaska……

Leave a Reply

