Christmas In Pictures

You know, as someone who spends the latter part of the year brimming with excitement for Christmas, it’s always a bit difficult to deal with the fact that there is so much build up for something that slips past so quickly!  I can hardly believe that this upcoming Thursday is New Year’s Eve!

In any event, Christmas was absolutely lovely.  Granted, I am still livid about the fact that Patrick’s major has STILL not arrived (cue up rage blackout sequence), but that’s neither here nor there at this point.  Either way, yes.  Holiday. Beautiful. Fruitful. Presents. Food. Family. Hooray!

Anyway, here is our Christmas weekend in pictures; although I must warn you that the picture quality is not that great.  We have somehow managed to lose the battery for my camera, and have been unable to find it for close to a month, so I took everything with my Blackberry Storm.  (This is also why The Klutzy Kitchen has been quiet since Thanksgiving.)  I ordered a new battery finally, and it should be here this week.  Until then, however…

On Christmas Eve, Patrick and I received a very special package in the mail… my wedding ring!  I wish the picture did it justice. It’s a sapphire and diamond ring.  I’m going non-traditional and will be wearing this as my only wedding ring (no two-ring pairing) after we get married.

Following our Christmas Eve dinner at Clyde’s at Gallery Place, Patrick and I came home and collapsed on the couch and cheesed it up with the 1961 version of Babes in Toyland.  Eventually we got off of our collective booty and finished wrapping presents.  Patrick went to bed soon after, and as a Christmas gift, I arranged all the presents under our tree and cleaned the whole apartment, top to bottom. Afterward, I collapsed on the couch for a late screening of National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation, whose credits you can see playing on the television.

The next morning, we woke up early with the pooches and exchanged gifts. Patrick is pictured above in one of his presents: a hoodie from the GAP.  Horatio is… being weird. I don’t know.

I can’t lie, Patrick picked the perfect gifts this year, including a Patriots jersey which isn’t pictured.  I received Alton Brown’s “Good Eats: The Early Years” book, the Metric Wonder Cup (if you’ve seen Good Eats, you know how amazing it is!), a Vineyard Vines tote bag, The West Wing: The Complete Series, and a Cuisinart hand blender, which will come in handy for soups!  Oh, I was also gifted with GIANT Yankee Candle Christmas Tree scent jar candles. Love.

After our gift exchange, we showered, dressed ourselves, and prepared to leave to see Patrick’s family on the Eastern Shore.  Patrick was sweet enough to go pick up the Zipcar.  While he was doing that, I gathered all the food, gifts, and wine we were taking over.  The dogs?  Waited impatiently for his return.  (Please note Clover’s one rogue ear; it always does that!)

After Patrick arrived back the apartment, we loaded up the car with ourselves, the dogs, and our various Christmas goodies, and headed off to the Shore.  when we arrived, it was a beautiful snowy scene. Granted it was leftover snow, but it still was a white Christmas nonetheless.

When we arrived, the dogs soon made themselves comfortable…

…and I made deviled eggs for the first time ever, with guidance from my future mother in law. (Seriously, other than the actual hard-boiling, I did it all myself.)

Soon it got dark, and we decided it was time to make our way back home. We scooped up our tired pooches and headed for the car.  After we crossed the Bay Bridge, we passed by something we had seen before on previous trips this holiday season: Lights on the Bay.  It’s a big drive-through Christmas lights display that is set up in a park right along the Chesapeake Bay.  It was absolutely beautiful.  We drove through it, listening to Christmas music, before we made our way home.

After a long trip home, we collapsed on the couch to watch Christmas movies, and eventually drift off to sleep.  Needless to say, it was an exhausting, but fun, Christmas.  We spent the next day… not leaving the apartment. At all.  We sat around.  We watched movies. We relaxed.  Sunday was spent at Murphy’s in Old Town for the Pats game.  Now?  We’re back at work.

I will say one thing that was fun about this holiday season: we didn’t have to travel.  I love that!   This week is another short week, thanks to New Year’s, but after that, work resumes at its normal hectic pace.  Classes also start again next week, as well.

I’m still amazed at how quickly this year has flown by.  The fact that 2010 begins THIS WEEK is utterly terrifying. (Wedding, ahoy!) I’ll write more on that another time.

This entry was posted in life, photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Christmas In Pictures

  1. Jamie says:

    Sounds like a great Christmas! Gorgeous ring 🙂

    And I seriously love Horatio pictures. I can’t get enough.

  2. Ohmygoshi says:

    What a lovely Christmas you two had! I absolutely adore Clover’s rogue ear, it’s just too cute for words. 2010 is going to be filled with so much excitement and good things, I just know it! Hope you guys have an awesome (and safe!) New Year’s Eve!! ❤

  3. Meg says:

    So glad you enjoyed your holiday! Looks very relaxing and fun. And your photos are great — can’t believe you took them with your BlackBerry! The night photos are better than the nighttime ones I took with my “professional” camera at home, LOL!

  4. Lexi says:

    Nice work on the eggs!

    Oh, and Steve’s major gift hasn’t arrived yet either! Of course, it is going to NH, as I had things shipped there. So, now when it does arrive, my parents will have to send it here. Booo!

  5. A Super Girl says:

    So jealous of the complete series of west wing. I have all the seasons, but lack the whole complete series packaging :-). Best show ever!

    And I’m so excited that Horatio will start judging us again soon!

  6. Maxie says:

    That ring is freaking GORGEOUS!

  7. LiLu says:

    Dear seriously… that is one of the most GORGEOUS rings I have ever seen. Wow.

  8. LiLu says:

    *Dead, even. 😉

  9. Carolyn says:

    The ring is beautiful!!

    So jealous of the West Wing set!

    Oooh, and can I have your password for your wedding posts? 🙂

Leave a Reply

