Moving, and Puppies, and Wedding Dresses! Oh My!

I have been more absent than a deadbeat parent who owes child support, and I am well aware of this.  Instead of hemming and hawing about how I just didn’t have time, or life just got too big for the blog (never!), I’ll just share what I’ve been up to.

The biggest event has been our move from Washington, D.C. to Old Town in Alexandria, Virginia.

The dogs were traumatized…

…and for a few days, our new apartment resembled an intricate, but totally awesome box fort.

Thankfully Patrick was willing to overlook the state of disarray in the new place when bribed with a steady supply of Guinness.

For the most part we are unpacked now, and hopefully we will be completely moved in this weekend.  We did have an unfortunate mishap following our move…

Oh, Horatio… you are such a fatty.

Like many of us, Horatio, upon moving into our new dwelling, decided he needed a hobby.  Some take up knitting; others, stamp collecting.  Horatio opted for a more “sporty” hobby.  Marathon barking.  For hours. While we were at work.  Causing neighbors to justifiably complain, and us to feel like complete jackasses.

He’s small, but his barks are deep and deafening.  What he lacks in stature, he makes up for in fatness and sheer obnoxious tenacity.

Thankfully Anamarie and her husband came to the rescue in the form of a citronella spray collar.  After 20 minutes (not an exaggeration) of spinning around in circles, trying to get the collar off, and a couple of sprays to the face when he got too uppity, he was defeated.

He has since resumed his role of the quiet grumbling pooch who is not-so-secretly plotting to take over the world.

Then there was the wedding dress debacle.  You may be asking yourself, if you’ve been following along, why I’m posting the picture publicly since I had been doing double-duty to make sure Patrick was surprised by my attire.  Well, the answer is simple: it’s no longer my wedding dress.

This was something that actually happened weeks ago, but to be honest… I barely told anyone what had happened.  For quite some time now, the wedding planning has been going so smoothly.  Everything is falling into place with ease, after a year and a half of making plans, changing plans, and changing plans yet again.

I got a bit tired of hearing the same old, “Man, you guys are having a hard time with this wedding!”  I know people meant well when they said it, but still I grew weary of people doling out sympathy when I just wanted to enjoy the process and make the best of the setbacks.  I didn’t want to be reminded of how arduous this process has been at times.  It never helped and always made me feel bad; like our wedding adventure was a cautionary tale used to warn other betrothed couples.

Also, since everything has been going so wonderfully recently, I absolutely didn’t want to hear anything that remotely sounded like any of that.  So I opted to keep my mouth shut.

Anyway, the dress arrived, by some miracle, a month ahead of schedule.  I was so excited.  After everyone left work, I crept into the large bathroom stall just to give the new dress a test drive.  I opened the box, pulled out the dress, and shimmied into it… only to find they had forgotten to add the five necessary inches to the bottom of the dress, and the dress size was two sizes larger than what I had ordered. It was an unalterable train wreck.

I had a small hissy fit. Well, small is not quite true, but we’re just going to move on.

I didn’t know what I was going to do.  I called the designer who apologized profusely for the error, totally taking responsibility.  Awesome.  But they could not guarantee me a replacement dress in the correct measurements in time for the wedding.  Even with a rush, it was something they simply couldn’t promise with 100% certainty. Not awesome.  We agreed to have me return the dress and receive a full refund.

And I was back at square one.  Two months to the big day, and I didn’t have a dress.  I had a few weeks to sit on that realization, too, because this happened right before we were moving.  All my spare time following that realization was spent packing, organizing, and physically moving.  Oh, and obsessively worrying that I was going to be showing up to our wedding in jeans and a Slayer t-shirt.

Finally this past weekend I faced the no-dress reality.  Anamarie, deciding to play SuperWoman once more, offered to be my wingwoman while I braved David’s Bridal yet again.  It was where I had bought my original dress that my mother intentionally threw out with the garbage.  When she originally got rid of the dress, I quickly dismissed going back to that store to buy a replacement or a new style because I was pretty traumatized by the whole thing… which I guess is a bit juvenile in retrospect.

I figured it was time to give it another chance; if I was able to buy a dress off the rack once, maybe I would be able to do it again.

Apparently yes, I could.

I had only pulled three dresses off the rack to try on, because their selection was much more sparse than the last time I was there.  I was a bit nervous, but Anamarie cheered me on.  The dress pictured above was the last dress I tried on, and it was perfect.  Admittedly we both got a bit teary, heh.  About twenty minutes later, she and I were out the door with my dress in tow.  It is now currently residing safely in a closet in our apartment.  No one is getting near it.

What’s funny is that this was a dress I desperately wanted to try on the first time, but they didn’t have it to try on, so I went with another dress.  I’m happier with this dress overall, and it doesn’t feel like a replacement.  Also, if I’m honest with myself, going for the navy blue evening gown was completely reactionary, and I feel a bit ridiculous.  What my mom threw out, in the end, was just a dress, and I got completely bent out of shape about it.  Every time I looked at a regular wedding dress, I just felt ill.

Without delving farther into this saga than I already have, let’s just say I’m glad that I came around in the end.  Oh, and I’m glad the shoes and jewelry I had picked out work really nicely with this dress.

Anamarie and I ended up celebrating our victory with a nice lunch at Mt. Vernon.

I’ll keep this final segment brief.  We sent out our wedding invitations today.  The big day is coming…

This entry was posted in life, Wedding Planning and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Moving, and Puppies, and Wedding Dresses! Oh My!

  1. Meg says:

    Whew, sounds like you’ve all been quite busy! I’m glad you’re getting settled and hopefully the pups are pleased with the new digs? If not, you know, they’ll come around. 🙂 Congrats on finding the new dress — it’s gorgeous! And I love the wedding-ring stamps, heh. I’m such a mail nerd.

  2. becca says:

    i love your new dress and can’t wait to see pictures of the big day. you’re going to have a blast celebrating your love and new life with Patrick surrounded by loved ones! here’s hoping i can see the dreaded dress-that-won’t-sell as just a dress and donate it to a good cause.

  3. Ohmygoshi says:

    Holla! This dress is stunning, and quite possibly my favorite favorite one of all! yay for you! 🙂

  4. Beth says:

    Now you can sit back, take a deep breath, and enjoy everything leading up to your big day from the comfort of your fabulous new pad in Old Town:) We need to get together for beverages at Southside soon.

  5. Heidi says:

    I lurrrveee that dress!!!!! I feel like a failure as a MOH since i couldn’t be there 😦 But still – so glad you found one and YOU HAD THE MOMENT!!!! YOU FOUND THE DRESS!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ Can't wait to get the invitations!!! xoxo

  6. Pingback: Moving, and Puppies, and Wedding Dresses! Oh My! « I Have Two Dogs … | Blue Wedding Dresses

  7. notsojenny says:

    yah for finding a new dress! ha, you can tell your future kids you bought 3 wedding dresses! : )
    enjoy the new apt… i long for the days of living in old buildings and awesome built-ins!

  8. Vie says:

    Your dress is absolutely stunning, and I’m sure you will look lovely. I’m happy your move went well, and I’m looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

