Wedding Overload

You know, it always amazes me how the amount I blog is inversely proportional to the amount of stuff I have going on in my life.  I have plenty of things I want to write about and share, but…

…I don’t know.  The wedding is only 45 days away (thanks for making me nervous with that tidbit, Macy’s!), and aside from school, I’m pretty much suffering from Wedding Brain Rot.  I don’t eat, sleep, poop wedding stuff, but it’s taking up a good portion of my gray matter at the moment.

And I think that’s what keeps me from blogging.  I didn’t want to be That Girl who blogs 24/7 about her wedding.  You know what I’m talking about… two posts a week devoted to shades of mauve and cocktail napkin monograms; at least three posts on menus and (if you’re lucky!) a comprehensive analysis of the debate of silk vs. taffeta.  The kind of stuff that makes you want to find the nearest cake topper in the shape of a sparrow and cram it into your eye.

The thing is, there are really exciting things that are either happening, or I’m buying in preparation for the wedding.  Those are things I have wanted to share, and I think that I can get away with it without causing too many people to go,  “More wedding shit? Lovely. Just lovely.”

For example!

Not this upcoming weekend, but the next, I am heading up to Connecticut to Casa Heidi (she’s my amazing Matron of Honor) for my bridal shower with a bunch of my friends.  Immediately following the shower will be a night spent in…


New York City!

I have no idea what’s going on for either the shower or the night out in New York City, and the suspense is KILLING ME!  The rumblings I have heard have been such a tease.  The one thing I do know was that there is a dress code, and even though it’s based pretty much one what I wear regularly, I wanted an outfit that was special.  I didn’t want to roll up to my party in an outfit that could double for going to work.

The dress code is jeans, fun black top, fun shoes.  After some searching, I came out with a pretty awesome outfit.


This ruffle tank. It’s black, even though it looks gray on screen.

Under this ruffle cardigan.


Fun zebra shoes.


…and this little fun bag from J Crew.

Not only am I looking forward to it from a “OH MY GOD! WEDDING!” perspective, but it’ll be nice to have a little mini weekend trip away from the DC area, too.

I can’t believe how quickly this wedding has come up.  In some ways, we’ve been planning for so long (since Spring 2008!), that… it’s not that I never expected the day to finally get close; it was always just so far away.  Now here we are.

I’m excited, although I’ll be glad when I don’t have to plan anything anymore, heh.  It’s going to be a wonderful day, but I’m really looking forward to being married.  Instead of hyper-focusing on one impending day, I’ll be looking forward to many days, trips, milestones, etc. I’ll be excited about life.

Even though we’re having an atypical wedding with a private ceremony and a reception at an Irish pub, you’d be surprised how much planning is involved.  There is so much preparation that goes into keeping things simple.  It’s kind of like how the simplest concepts in life like love and happiness are seemingly the hardest to find at times.  Simplicity is often hoisted up on the shoulders of rigorous structure, scheduling, and man hours.

I love being a bride-to-be, and I know I’ll love being a bride.  I know that our wedding day is going to be amazing; a day we never forget.  Our wedding day being a blast is a forgone conclusion.  That said, I’m ready for some normalcy, relaxation, and living a life that is devoid of wedding planning for a little while.  I’m looking forward to getting back to basics, focusing on our life together, and just being us.

Until then, BRING ON NEW YORK CITY!

This entry was posted in Wedding Planning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

