Sunday Funday

I am going to take a break from scolding myself over burning my tongue due to excessive chewing of cinnamon gum (I have the kind of talent most only dream of!) in order to share how great Sunday was.

After a wonderful brunch in DC with Anamarie and Amanda at Urbana, I came home feeling a bit overwhelmed with anxiety.  It’s a recent phenomena that has developed over having to juggle so many things happening at once: school, work, wedding planning, moving from DC to Virginia, etc.  I’m a capable person who can handle multiple things at once, but I’m only human.  My life is full and so very “rewarding, but it’s also stressful and hectic.  For the most part, I’m usually okay.  Sunday was sadly not one of those times.

I tried playing with the dogs.  I tried watching TV.  I tried doing my nails.  I tried laying down and napping.  Nothing worked.

Patrick suggested we go out with no particular plan.  We would explore the neighborhood and head into Old Town.  He thought just getting me out and having fun would relax me.

He was right.

We explored a neighborhood fresh food market.  We went to Paper Source.  We walked down to the waterfront and relaxed with our feet dangling over the water.  We wandered through some parts of the neighborhood, looking at small independently owned shops and old historic residences.  I showed him some of my favorite places from growing up.  We ended the excursion with a trip to Murphy’s for a beer and a bit of relaxation.  We highly recommend Kilkenny’s Irish Cream Ale.

It was exactly what I needed. We came home, ordered in, and curled up to watch a movie.  It was a perfect way to end the weekend.

I know Sundays often carry with it the weight of Impending Monday, but there’s something so refreshing about a Sunday.  Of course I might simply be enamored with the fact that we were, for once, not being rained or snowed on, and I didn’t have to hide under a giant wool coat.

That said, here I sit… and it’s only Tuesday. Boo.

This entry was posted in life, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sunday Funday

  1. Lexi says:

    I especially love the corgi, obviously 🙂

  2. Sounds like a great day 🙂

    I started having anxiety issues a little over a year ago when I moved to a new state (new home, didn’t know anyone, new job, money problems, family problems, all at once). I have a handle on it most of the time now, but there are still days when I just can’t shake it, for what seems like no reason sometimes. It sucks, but it sounds like we both have great partners who understand and are helpful!

  3. Laura says:

    Whoa! That’s a big dog in that one photo! Whew!

    Great shots. I’m glad you had Patrick to help get you out of your funk! 🙂

  4. Kayla says:

    Your pictures are fabulous! I love exploring… you find the coolest places; or lame places that someone are fun from the adventure!!

    http://senseofstyleiseternal.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

