Ten Days

Our wedding rings.

I’m forcing myself to write this entry because, considering how much is going on right now, I’m not sure when I’m going to get another chance to write before we get married…

..in TEN DAYS.

I can’t believe it’s already here.  In a mere ten days, I will be a Mrs.  It’s strange that for so long it felt like this day would never get here, and now it’s right around the corner.

These last few weeks leading up to The Big Day have been adventurous.  I was dumped by my florist because they decided they no longer liked Sundays. They might as well have broken up with me via Post-it Note.  I almost smothered the florist at Balducci’s, when I was searching for a replacement, because when I told her all I wanted was a white and green bouquet she kept pushing pink.  Seriously.

“You need color. How about pink?”

“No. I don’t like pink. I just want ivory roses and green berries.”

“Okay… so how about pink?”

“Really, just the roses and berries will be fine.”

“…pink?”

She became exasperated with me, the bride who didn’t want pink… like I was committing some sort of crime by wanting something simple and devoid of the usual bouquet staples.

Every time I pointed to something I liked, she would look at me like I was crazy, and then wave her hand in my face saying,  “No, no, no…” The whole episode ended with her in a huff, telling me to come back with pictures of what I wanted, and giggling to her coworkers about how ridiculous I was.  “A bouquet with NO pink? She crazy.”

(Note to people who work in retail. Try to wait until someone is out of ear shot before slamming them.)

Then there was the famous hives episode which has finally concluded.  Starting last Wednesday evening my body just decided to explode.  It started with just a few itchy spots, which blossomed overnight into my worst nightmare.

I woke up Thursday morning covered in hives, itching like crazy. I ended up leaving work within two hours because whatever was happening to me became aggressive, and I began to have trouble breathing.

I had a severe allergic reaction to something unknown that resulted in FIVE DAYS of chronic hives that covered me from head to toe.  Nothing would stop the madness either, as whatever was happening to me seemed impervious to any sort of over the counter allergy medication.  It laughed in the face of Benadryl. And chortled at Zyrtec.   In the past week I’ve been to the ER three times, had four shots, and filled seven different prescriptions.

I think my favorite part of the whole hives debacle was Sunday night though.  At that point, I had so many hives on my body, they had joined forces and formed one Super Hive.  I was miserable, blotchy, and itchy.  Strung out on anti-anxiety medication (thank you, GW Hospital ER nurse!) and Prednisone, I sat in a bath for two hours to find relief.  During this time, Patrick put on some tunes and kept me company.  I soaked in the tub, smoked Marlboro menthol lights, and sang along to “Wonderwall” by Oasis in an over-enthusiastic medicated stupor.

I bet that mental image makes you wish you were marrying me. Patrick’s a lucky guy, am I right?

Anyway, thankfully all that hive-y goodness is behind me.

Man, this is really romantic for the last-post-before-the-wedding post, isn’t it?

Well, it doesn’t matter.  A week from today, people will be arriving for the wedding, starting with my brother.  It will kick off a weekend of friends, family, and fun. And that Sunday, I’ll be marrying the love of my life.

You know, for awhile there I was wondering if this day would ever come.  We kept having to move it or change it, which became disheartening after awhile.  But it is all working out as it should.  It all feels right.  It’s all coming together.

Anyway, I have a pile of to do lists with items that need, well, doing, so I must scram.

See you on the flip side…

This entry was posted in Wedding Planning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Ten Days

  1. Ohmygoshi says:

    that’s a gorgeous photo!! i can’t believe your hives got so bad, but it sounds like you’re doing MUCH better now. Soon, this wedding nonsense will be over and you’ll simply be able to enjoy being a Mrs. I’m so excited for you, and I’m sure it’s going to be a splendid affair!! ❤

  2. Jessica Carlson says:

    haha, I just read your blog. I had a similar thing happen with hydrangeas. I hate hydrangeas, and the lady couldn’t get it in her head that I did not want them in my bouquets. She kept trying to sneak them in as filler flowers. WTF…haha! I got a new florist, and everything turned out beautiful. Congrats!! Take a deep breath, you are almost there!!!! 🙂

  3. Ronnica says:

    LOVE your wedding ring!

    I hope you’re doing better now! Such an exciting time…remember to take a moment to breath and remember it all!

  4. A Super Girl says:

    After reading all about the waiting and the pushing and the changing, I’m so excited for you! I can’t wait to read your first post as a Mrs.!! Also hoping you’ll include photos so your Internet friends can see how the wedding (finally!!) turned out 🙂

  5. Laura says:

    Great shot of the rings – I love it!

    That’s nuts about the florist…both the one dumping you (seriously…and I love the Post-It analogy…muahaha), and the new one with the pink fetish…geesh. What’s with the pink obsession, and why couldn’t she just give up?

  6. Jen says:

    Enjoy your wedding, Liz! Your ring is beautiful!

    I see nothing wrong with omitting the pink, and I’m relieved your hives have cleared. That would not have made for good wedding pictures…

  7. I am so appalled by that florist! For real?! How rude and presumptuous.

    Anyway – HAVE FUN! CONGRATULATIONS! STOKED FOR YOU TWO!

Leave a Reply

